You are here

Authentic Determination

Based in Adelaide, South Australia, Brigid Noone has expanded her painting practice into an experimental hybrid of artistic and curatorial processes, often incorporating the work of other artists into her wall paintings and installations or working collaboratively to produce co- authored exhibitions.

Image: Brigid Noone, Lucky Bitches, 2017, oil on canvas, 75x100cm. © Courtesy of the artist. Photograph by Grant Hancock

As co-director of Fontantelle, a gallery and studio complex now located in the heritage precinct of Port Adelaide, Noone has been instrumental in recent discussions about feminism and community in contemporary Australian art. 

Authentic Determination sees Noone apply her unique methodology to the Cruthers Collection of Women’s Art, considering the artist as ‘whole being’. Noone will open a conversation between the collection, her own work and the work of her peers, exploring how the complex lives of artists are embodied in their work.

Exhibitions from the Cruthers Collection of Women’s Art are supported by SHEILA A foundation for women in visual art. 

Event details

Date: Wed 20 Jun 2018

Time: 11:00am - 05:00pm

View additional sessions

  • June 2018
    • Date: Thu 21 Jun 2018
      Time: 11:00am - 05:00pm
    • Date: Fri 22 Jun 2018
      Time: 11:00am - 05:00pm
    • Date: Sat 23 Jun 2018
      Time: 11:00am - 05:00pm
    • Date: Mon 25 Jun 2018
      Time: 11:00am - 05:00pm
    • Date: Wed 27 Jun 2018
      Time: 11:00am - 05:00pm
    • Date: Thu 28 Jun 2018
      Time: 11:00am - 05:00pm
    • Date: Fri 29 Jun 2018
      Time: 11:00am - 05:00pm
    • Date: Sat 30 Jun 2018
      Time: 11:00am - 05:00pm
  • July 2018
    • Date: Mon 02 Jul 2018
      Time: 11:00am - 05:00pm
    • Date: Wed 04 Jul 2018
      Time: 11:00am - 05:00pm
    • Date: Thu 05 Jul 2018
      Time: 11:00am - 05:00pm
    • Date: Fri 06 Jul 2018
      Time: 11:00am - 05:00pm
    • Date: Sat 07 Jul 2018
      Time: 11:00am - 05:00pm
    • Date: Mon 09 Jul 2018
      Time: 11:00am - 05:00pm
    • Date: Wed 11 Jul 2018
      Time: 11:00am - 05:00pm
    • Date: Thu 12 Jul 2018
      Time: 11:00am - 05:00pm
    • Date: Fri 13 Jul 2018
      Time: 11:00am - 05:00pm
    • Date: Sat 14 Jul 2018
      Time: 11:00am - 05:00pm
    • Date: Mon 16 Jul 2018
      Time: 11:00am - 05:00pm
    • Date: Wed 18 Jul 2018
      Time: 11:00am - 05:00pm
    • Date: Thu 19 Jul 2018
      Time: 11:00am - 05:00pm
    • Date: Fri 20 Jul 2018
      Time: 11:00am - 05:00pm
    • Date: Sat 21 Jul 2018
      Time: 11:00am - 05:00pm
    • Date: Mon 23 Jul 2018
      Time: 11:00am - 05:00pm
    • Date: Wed 25 Jul 2018
      Time: 11:00am - 05:00pm
    • Date: Thu 26 Jul 2018
      Time: 11:00am - 05:00pm
    • Date: Fri 27 Jul 2018
      Time: 11:00am - 05:00pm
    • Date: Sat 28 Jul 2018
      Time: 11:00am - 05:00pm
    • Date: Mon 30 Jul 2018
      Time: 11:00am - 05:00pm
  • August 2018
    • Date: Wed 01 Aug 2018
      Time: 11:00am - 05:00pm
    • Date: Thu 02 Aug 2018
      Time: 11:00am - 05:00pm
    • Date: Fri 03 Aug 2018
      Time: 11:00am - 05:00pm
    • Date: Sat 04 Aug 2018
      Time: 11:00am - 05:00pm
    • Date: Mon 06 Aug 2018
      Time: 11:00am - 05:00pm
    • Date: Wed 08 Aug 2018
      Time: 11:00am - 05:00pm
    • Date: Thu 09 Aug 2018
      Time: 11:00am - 05:00pm
    • Date: Fri 10 Aug 2018
      Time: 11:00am - 05:00pm
    • Date: Sat 11 Aug 2018
      Time: 11:00am - 05:00pm
    • Date: Mon 13 Aug 2018
      Time: 11:00am - 05:00pm
    • Date: Wed 15 Aug 2018
      Time: 11:00am - 05:00pm
    • Date: Thu 16 Aug 2018
      Time: 11:00am - 05:00pm
    • Date: Fri 17 Aug 2018
      Time: 11:00am - 05:00pm
    • Date: Sat 18 Aug 2018
      Time: 11:00am - 05:00pm

Price: Free

Location: 35 Stirling Hwy, Crawley WA 6009

Enquiries

Contact name: Lawrence Wilson Art Gallery

Phone: (08) 6488 3707

Email: lwag@uwa.edu.au

http://www.lwgallery.uwa.edu.au