You are here

WA Now: Julie Dowling – Babanyu (Friends for life)

The exhibition takes a step back in time to a period (1993–2005) when First Nation Badimaya artist, Julie Dowling, emerged as one of the most important artists in Western Australia and the country.

AGWA Unlimited

In this period, the real-life stories she shared about First Nations peoples’ experience in this country were abrupt, brutal and challenging. Many of the stories she shared were, and still are, largely unknown or acknowledged in mainstream Australian society. 

To convey these messages, Dowling draws from Renaissance portrait paintings of the 16th century. Similar to the early classical paintings, the faces in Dowling’s paintings show minimal expression, except for the gaze. Large brown eyes stare out with a mix of sorrow and protest, as well as strength and determination. 

Individual and group portraits of the artist, her family and friends, drawn from the State Art Collection, make up the thirty-nine paintings on display.

In addition to investigating contemporary stories of First Nations people, that rival the most ancient and epic of tales, the show is one large composite portrait of the artist. Through these works, we get a glimpse of who Dowling is and what she stands for, such as social justice and change. Further still, we get to see Julie Dowling as a Badimaya woman, learn about her love for Badimaya family and culture and of her deepening relationship with Badimaya language. 

In her words, culture and language are ‘Babanyu’ – friends for life.

 

Event details

Date: Wed 20 Jun 2018

Time: 10:00am - 05:00pm

View additional sessions

  • June 2018
    • Date: Thu 21 Jun 2018
      Time: 10:00am - 05:00pm
    • Date: Fri 22 Jun 2018
      Time: 10:00am - 05:00pm
    • Date: Sat 23 Jun 2018
      Time: 10:00am - 05:00pm
    • Date: Sun 24 Jun 2018
      Time: 10:00am - 05:00pm
    • Date: Mon 25 Jun 2018
      Time: 10:00am - 05:00pm
    • Date: Wed 27 Jun 2018
      Time: 10:00am - 05:00pm
    • Date: Thu 28 Jun 2018
      Time: 10:00am - 05:00pm
    • Date: Fri 29 Jun 2018
      Time: 10:00am - 05:00pm
    • Date: Sat 30 Jun 2018
      Time: 10:00am - 05:00pm
  • July 2018
    • Date: Sun 01 Jul 2018
      Time: 10:00am - 05:00pm
    • Date: Mon 02 Jul 2018
      Time: 10:00am - 05:00pm
    • Date: Wed 04 Jul 2018
      Time: 10:00am - 05:00pm
    • Date: Thu 05 Jul 2018
      Time: 10:00am - 05:00pm
    • Date: Fri 06 Jul 2018
      Time: 10:00am - 05:00pm
    • Date: Sat 07 Jul 2018
      Time: 10:00am - 05:00pm
    • Date: Sun 08 Jul 2018
      Time: 10:00am - 05:00pm
    • Date: Mon 09 Jul 2018
      Time: 10:00am - 05:00pm
    • Date: Wed 11 Jul 2018
      Time: 10:00am - 05:00pm
    • Date: Thu 12 Jul 2018
      Time: 10:00am - 05:00pm
    • Date: Fri 13 Jul 2018
      Time: 10:00am - 05:00pm
    • Date: Sat 14 Jul 2018
      Time: 10:00am - 05:00pm
    • Date: Sun 15 Jul 2018
      Time: 10:00am - 05:00pm
    • Date: Mon 16 Jul 2018
      Time: 10:00am - 05:00pm
    • Date: Wed 18 Jul 2018
      Time: 10:00am - 05:00pm
    • Date: Thu 19 Jul 2018
      Time: 10:00am - 05:00pm
    • Date: Fri 20 Jul 2018
      Time: 10:00am - 05:00pm
    • Date: Sat 21 Jul 2018
      Time: 10:00am - 05:00pm
    • Date: Sun 22 Jul 2018
      Time: 10:00am - 05:00pm
    • Date: Mon 23 Jul 2018
      Time: 10:00am - 05:00pm
    • Date: Wed 25 Jul 2018
      Time: 10:00am - 05:00pm
    • Date: Thu 26 Jul 2018
      Time: 10:00am - 05:00pm
    • Date: Fri 27 Jul 2018
      Time: 10:00am - 05:00pm
    • Date: Sat 28 Jul 2018
      Time: 10:00am - 05:00pm
    • Date: Sun 29 Jul 2018
      Time: 10:00am - 05:00pm
    • Date: Mon 30 Jul 2018
      Time: 10:00am - 05:00pm
  • August 2018
    • Date: Wed 01 Aug 2018
      Time: 10:00am - 05:00pm
    • Date: Thu 02 Aug 2018
      Time: 10:00am - 05:00pm
    • Date: Fri 03 Aug 2018
      Time: 10:00am - 05:00pm
    • Date: Sat 04 Aug 2018
      Time: 10:00am - 05:00pm
    • Date: Sun 05 Aug 2018
      Time: 10:00am - 05:00pm
    • Date: Mon 06 Aug 2018
      Time: 10:00am - 05:00pm
    • Date: Wed 08 Aug 2018
      Time: 10:00am - 05:00pm
    • Date: Thu 09 Aug 2018
      Time: 10:00am - 05:00pm
    • Date: Fri 10 Aug 2018
      Time: 10:00am - 05:00pm
    • Date: Sat 11 Aug 2018
      Time: 10:00am - 05:00pm
    • Date: Sun 12 Aug 2018
      Time: 10:00am - 05:00pm
    • Date: Mon 13 Aug 2018
      Time: 10:00am - 05:00pm

Price: Free

Location: Perth Cultural Centre, Perth

Enquiries

Contact name: Art Gallery of WA

Phone: +61 8 9492 6600

Email: admin@artgallery.wa.gov.au

http://www.artgallery.wa.gov.au/index.asp