You are here

St Mary's Cathedral

St Mary's Cathedral is the cathedral church of the Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Perth, and seat of its Archbishop, currently Timothy Costelloe.

St Mary's Cathedral

Officially the Cathedral of the Immaculate Conception of the Blessed Virgin Mary, the cathedral is located at the peak of a hill in East Perth, at the centre of Victoria Square in Western Australia.

The cathedral as it now stands was constructed in three main phases, with the first phase completed in 1865. Plans were drawn up for the replacement of the cathedral in the 1920s with a larger Perpendicular Gothic edifice. However, construction was interrupted by the onset of the Great Depression, leaving a new transept and sanctuary, with the aisle of the original cathedral as its nave.

After 70 years incomplete, and portions of the cathedral requiring extensive repair work, funds were eventually raised in the late 1990s and early 2000s for the completion of the expansion. A new curved design for the expansion was created, and featured a second spire and underground parish centre. The cathedral closed for construction in 2006, and reopened in December 2009.

Weekend Mass Times
Saturday: 8:00 am, 6:00 pm (Vigil)
Sunday: 8:00 am, 9:30 am, 11:00 am, 5:00 pm (Youth Mass)

Weekday Mass Times
Monday: 8:00 am, 12:10 pm (Monday - Friday)

Saturday: 5:00 pm – 06:00 pm
Monday: 11:15 am – 12:00 pm (Monday - Friday) 

Other Events
Novena - Every Wednesday at 7.30pm
Holy Hour - Every Friday from 11.00 - 12.00

Venue information

Operating hours:

Please see website

Disabled access: Yes

Location: 17 Victoria Square, Perth WA 6000

Contact information

Phone: 08 9223 1350